Congratulations, Class of 2020, from the Vanderbilt Law School community!

On behalf of the faculty, staff and administration, we are all so very proud of your accomplishments. Members of your class have secured the highest number of federal clerkships of any class in our history, won scholarly writing awards and national accolades for public service, and donated thousands of hours of pro bono and community service to those in need. You have worked extremely hard during your time here, and you have made friendships that will last a lifetime.

Though we were deeply disappointed that we could not congratulate you in 2020 as usual, we are excited to celebrate your Commencement with you today.

Sincere regards and best wishes for a happy and successful life in the law,

Chris Guthrie
Dean and John Wade–Kent Syverud Professor of Law

Watch the recording of the Vanderbilt Law School Class of 2020 Commencement ceremony below:

Class of 2020 Commencement Program:

VLS Class of 2020 Commencement Program - May 2, 2021

Founder's Medalist

Photo of Micah Bradley

Micah N. Bradley of Brentwood, Tennessee has won the Founder’s Medal, signifying first honors in Vanderbilt Law School’s J.D. Class of 2020. Bradley also received the Robert F. Jackson Memorial Prize, awarded to the member of the second-year law class who has maintained the highest scholastic average during the two years, and the Archie B. Martin Memorial Prize for Scholarship, awarded to the student of the first-year law class who earned the highest general average for the year.

During her 3L year, she served as senior en banc editor of the Vanderbilt Law Review and as articles editor of the Environmental Law and Policy Annual Review. As a 2L, she was a Legal Writing teaching assistant.

Bradley is serving as a law clerk for Judge Eli Richardson ’92 of the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Tennessee during 2020-21. She is the daughter of Lori Michelle Bradley (MS’90).

Other Class of 2020 News

Micah Bradley receives Class of 2020 Founder’s Medal for First Honors

Class of 2020 Student Awards announced by the Vanderbilt Bar Association

16 members of the Class of 2020 complete Pro Bono Pledge

39 members of the Class of 2020 serving in judicial clerkships, the highest in VLS history

Amber Banks ’20 receives 2020 Equal Justice Works Regional Public Interest Award

Cort Thompson ’20 wins the American Society of International Law 2020 Richard Baxter Military Prize

2020 grads Joe Sandford and Willoe DeFuccio named Gideon’s Promise Fellows

Hannah Miller ’20: Seeking Challenge and Service in the Law

Chris Serkin, Dan Sharfstein, Kevin Stack, Yesha Yadav, Ingrid Wuerth and Debra Lee receive 2020 Hall-Hartman Outstanding Teaching Awards

Who is the VLS Class of 2020?

  • Christopher Sundby also earned a Ph.D. in Law and Neuroscience.
  • Mohamed Elbarkatawy, Matthew Joseph Hood, John Hyeon Gon Kim, William Crescent Ladd, Ryan Christopher Paxton and Andrew Rizkalla also earned a Master’s in Finance from the Owen Graduate School of Management.
  • Anna Elise Forrister also earned a Master’s in Public Policy at Peabody College.
  • Randall Phillip Hiroshige also earned a Master of Theology at Vanderbilt Divinity School; his. J.D. and M.T.S. degrees were awarded in December 2019.
182 J.D. degrees awarded
72 LL.M. degrees awarded