Vanderbilt Law School Background Image

Who We Are

The Criminal Justice Program's faculty is ranked among the best in the nation.

Professor Chris Slobogin Christopher Slobogin , Director
Milton R. Underwood Chair in Law
Professor of Psychiatry

Juveniles At RiskChris Slobogin is an authority on criminal procedure, mental health law, and evidence. He is the author of more than 100 articles, books and book chapters. Juveniles at Risk: A Plea for Preventive Justice (Oxford University Press, 2011), co-authored by Professor Slobogin, offers proposals aimed at encouraging policy makers, judges and lawyers to re-examine and improve juvenile justice.


Full-Time Faculty

Owen Jones , Professor Owen JonesGlenn M. Weaver, M.D. and Mary Ellen Weaver Chair in Law, Brain, and Behavior and Professor of Biological Sciences, specializes in law and behavioral biology, and law and neuroscience. Associate Dean Sue Kay Susan Kay , Associate Dean for Experiential Education, is an expert on criminal procedure and evidence, teaches the Criminal Practice Clinic.
Professor Nancy King Nancy King , Lee S. and Charles A. Speir Professor of Law, is an expert in the the areas of habeas corpus, trials, sentencing, appeals and plea bargaining. Professor Terry Maroney Terry Maroney , Robert S. and Theresa L. Reder Chair and Professor of Law focuses on juvenile justice, the relevance of adolescence brain science, and law and emotion.
Professor Sara Mayeux Sara Mayeux , Associate Professor of Law, researches and writes on criminal law and procedure, as well as American legal history. Professor Rob MikosRobert Mikos , LaRoche Family Chair and Professor of Law, studies federalism and criminal law issues, including drug law and policy.
Professor Michael Newton Michael Newton , Professor of the Practice of Law, studies international humanitarian law and criminal law and and is an expert on the International Criminal Court. Professor Edward RubinEdward Rubin , University Distinguished Professor of Law and Political Science, studies and writes about constitutional law, administrative law and legal theory.

Affiliated Faculty

Bill Cohen | Brian Curley | Glenn Funk | Richard McGee | Brian Roark | Edmund Sauer | Arjun Sethi | Dumaka Shabazz