Vanderbilt Law School Background Image

Law & Innovation Faculty

Professor JB RuhlJ.B. Ruhl , Director
David Daniels Allen Distinguished Chair of Law
Co-director, Energy, Environment and Land Use Program

J. B. Ruhl is an expert in environmental, natural resources and property law. His influential scholarly articles relating to climate change, the Endangered Species Act, ecosystems, governance, and other environmental and natural resources law issues have been selected by peers as among the best law review articles in the field of environmental law eight times from 1989 to 2013. Before entering the academy, he was a partner with Fulbright & Jaworski in Austin, Texas, where he also taught on the adjunct faculty of the University of Texas Law School.


Professor Cat MoonCaitlin Moon, Director of Innovation Design
Director, PoLI Institute
Lecturer in Law

Instructor in Radiology and Radiological Services
Founder and Legal Counsel, Ledger Law

Caitlin "Cat" Moon works with law firms, legal departments, and law schools across the U.S. to bring a human-centered design perspective to firms and legal services companies as they re-imagine the delivery of legal services and education. In her role as Director of Innovation Design, she works with Vanderbilt colleagues to design the curriculum for both the JD program and the PoLI Institute, which provides interactive training in legal innovation to practicing lawyers and legal professionals. Professor Moon co-founded the Summit on Law and Innovation, an outreach effort of the Program on Law and Innovation. 


Affiliated Faculty

Professor Michael Bressman Michael Bressman  teaches Intellectual Property and the Arts Clinic and directs the law school's clerkship program.
Professor Daniel Gervais Daniel Gervais , who directs Vanderbilt's Intellectual Property Program, is an expert in intellectual property and is the author of an influential book on the TRIPS Agreement.
Dean Chris Guthrie Chris Guthrie is a leading expert on behavioral law and economics, dispute resolution, negotiation and judicial decision making.
Professor Nancy Lea Hyer Nancy Lea Hyer ’s work in academic and business communities focuses on cellular operations, quality and process improvement, and project management.
Professor Terry Maroney Terry Maroney 's work focuses on juvenile justice, the relevance of adolescence brain science, and law and emotion.
Mark Williams Mark Williams is the Head of Digital Initiatives in the Alyne Queener Massey Law Library.
Professor Yesha Yadav Yesha Yadav 's research interests lie in the area of financial and securities regulation with respect to the evolving response of regulatory policy to innovations in financial engineering, market microstructure and globalization.


Adjunct Faculty

Roger Conner | Jason Epstein | Cheryl Mason

Tatiana Stolijarova | Larry Bridgesmith