Dean Chris Guthrie joins with deans of more than 40 U.S. law schools in support of AG Garland’s call to the legal community

Statement of Law School Deans in Support of the Attorney General’s Call to the Legal Community


We, the deans of law schools across the United States, agree with Attorney General Garland that the legal profession is well positioned to provide support for tenants, landlords, and courts in the looming housing and eviction crisis. As law school deans responsible for training the next generation of lawyers to be stewards of an effective, equitable, and just legal system, we feel obliged to do our part.

Therefore, we are working with our faculty and students to take immediate and meaningful action to combat this crisis. Drawing on resources such as our pro bono programs, clinical offerings, and the service of our larger law school communities, we will help ensure that families and individuals facing eviction have the legal representation, counseling, and assistance they need to exercise their rights, that those entitled to the support of the Emergency Rental Assistance Program are able to access it, and that eviction proceedings are conducted in a fair and just manner.

Alicia Ouellette, Albany Law School

Roger A. Fairfax, Jr., American University Washington College of Law

Angela Onwuachi-Willig, Boston University School of Law

Michael T. Cahill, Brooklyn Law School

Eduardo R.C. Capulong, City University of New York School of Law

Gillian Lester, Columbia Law School

Jens David Ohlin, Cornell Law School

Kerry Abrams, Duke University School of Law

Matthew Diller, Fordham University School of Law

William M. Treanor, Georgetown University Law Center

John F. Manning, Harvard Law School

Gail Prudenti, Hofstra University Maurice A. Deane School of Law

Danielle Holley-Walker, Howard University School of Law

Anthony W. Crowell, New York Law School

Trevor W. Morrison, New York University School of Law

Hari M. Osofsky, Northwestern Pritzker School of Law

G. Marcus Cole, Notre Dame Law School

Horace E. Anderson, Pace University Elisabeth Haub School of Law

Danielle M. Conway, Penn State Dickinson Law

James W. HouckPenn State Law

Rose Cuison-Villazor and Kimberly Mutcherson, Rutgers Law School

Michael A. Simons, St. John’s University School of Law

Jenny S. Martinez, Stanford Law School

Craig M. Boise, Syracuse University College of Law

Dayna Bowen Matthew, The George Washington University Law School

Elena B. Langan, Touro Law Center

Jennifer L. Mnookin, UCLA School of Law

Aviva Abramovsky, University at Buffalo School of Law, The State University of New York

Ronald Weich, University of Baltimore School of Law

Erwin Chemerinsky, University of California, Berkeley School of Law

Laura Ann Rosenbury, University of Florida Levin College of Law

Leonard M. Baynes, University of Houston Law Center

Donald B. Tobin, University of Maryland Francis King Carey School of Law

Mark D. West, University of Michigan Law School

Garry W. Jenkins, University of Minnesota Law School

Theodore W. Ruger, University of Pennsylvania Carey Law School

Wendy C. Perdue, University of Richmond School of Law

William C. Hubbard, University of South Carolina School of Law

Andrew T. Guzman, University of Southern California Gould School of Law

Renée McDonald Hutchins, University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law

Chris Guthrie, Vanderbilt Law School

Richard A. Bierschbach, Wayne State University Law School

Heather K. Gerken, Yale Law School

Melanie Leslie, Yeshiva University Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law

Download the statement