About this issue – Fall 2016

Executive Editor

Grace Renshaw

Managing Editor

Seth Robertson

Contributing Writers

Shayla Byrd, Vidhi Sanghavi Joshi, Princine Lewis, Ann Marie Deer Owens, Jim Patterson, Morgan Ricks, Bill Snyder, Amy Wolf

Design and Art Direction

Deborah Brewington


Susan Adcock, Sandy Campbell, Daniel Dubois, Steve Green, Joe Howell, Anne Rayner, John Russell, Joy Marie Smallwood, Rusty Russell, Susan Urmy, Terry Wyatt

Production Assistant

Julie Luckett Turner

Editorial Assistants

Eileen Cunningham, Brandy Drinnon, Mary Kate Erb, Rachael Phillips, Sarah Parker Poteete


University Web Communications, Lacy Paschal

VLS Webmaster

Brandy Drinnon

Dean & John Wade-Kent Syverud Professor

Chris Guthrie

Associate Dean for Development and Alumni Relations

Scotty Mann

Cover: From left, Nathan Walsh ’16, Carly Myers ’17 and Darrius Woods ’17. Photo by Daniel Dubois

Fall 2016 Vanderbilt Law Magazine